GeoHeatStorage

GeoHeatStorage will supply a large-scale, cost-effective heat storage system for the smood® technology platform that can provide seasonal heat storage for an entire neighborhood. For this purpose, near-surface gravel aquifers are to be developed using special civil engineering methods.

The overall goal is to achieve the lowest possible heat production costs for year-round renewable energy supply in the district network through the optimized interaction of all components < 10 ct/kWh (according to VDI 2067).

This goal is to be achieved by a modular solution for near-surface groundwater heat storage systems using civil engineering components and special civil engineering methods in suitable underground construction space while optimizing the technical design (simulation) and optimal operation management with respect to heat storage costs.

Economically, the process in combination with solar thermal energy should compete with the currently cheap natural gas.

Research objectives:

  • Utilization of the potentials of near-surface gravel aquifers developed by construction technology
  • standardized procedures to determine the geological conditions
  • optimal civil engineering methods for development
  • dimensioning and evaluation
  • technical and economic improvement through further technical (standardized) components

Joint partners:

Project lead:

Marcus Meisel
meisel@jena-geos.de

GeoHeatStorage

GeoHeatStorage wird für die smood®-Technologieplattform einen großskaligen kostengünstigen Wärmespeicher liefern, der für ein ganzes Quartier die saisonale Wärmespeicherung übernehmen kann. Hierfür sollen oberflächennahe Kies-Grundwasserleiter unter Einbeziehung von Spezialtiefbauverfahren bautechnisch erschlossenen werden.

Als Gesamtziel ist die Erreichung bisher niedrigster Wärmegestehungskosten für ganzjährige Erneuerbare-Energie-Versorgung im Quartiersverbund durch das optimierte Zusammenwirken aller Komponenten < 10 ct/kWh (nach VDI 2067) ausgegeben.

Dieses Ziel soll durch eine Baukastenlösung für oberflächennahe Grundwasser-Wärmespeichersysteme unter Einsatz bautechnischer Komponenten und Spezialtiefbauverfahren im geeigneten unterirdischen Bauraum bei Optimierung des technischen Designs (Simulation) und optimaler Betriebsführung in Bezug auf die Wärmespeicherkosten erreicht werden.

Wirtschaftlich soll das Verfahren in Verbindung mit Solarthermie mit dem aktuell günstigen Erdgas konkurrieren.

Forschungsziele:

  • Nutzen der Potentiale bautechnisch erschlossenen oberflächennahen Kies-Grundwasserleiter
  • standardisierte Verfahren zur Bestimmung der geologischen Voraussetzungen
  • optimale Tiefbauverfahren zur Erschließung
  • Dimensionierung und Bewertung
  • technische und wirtschaftliche Verbesserung durch weitere technische (standardisierte) Komponenten

Verbundpartner:

JENA-GEOS®-Ingenieurbüro GmbH  (Projektkoordinator)

Bauer Resources GmbH

IAB Institut für Angewandte Bauforschung gGmbH, Weimar

HKL Ingenieurgesellschaft GmbH

Projektleiter:

Dr. Gerold Hesse
hesse@jena-geos.de